THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE
OF FPD ATHLETICS

Basketball

Head Coach Gavin Chapman

First Presbyterian Day School Head of School Gregg Thompson and Athletic Director Greg Moore are pleased to announce the hiring of Gavin Chapman as the new Head Boys Varsity Basketball Coach.

 

“We are excited to have Gavin Chapman and his family joining the FPD community. He understands the mission of our school, and he has a passion to help develop young student athletes into young men of character,” said Moore. “I look forward to working very closely with him in the days and weeks ahead as we build on the proud tradition of our boys basketball program.”

 

Prior to FPD, Chapman has been the Head Men’s Basketball of Brewton-Parker College in Mount Vernon, Georgia, since 2014. In his inaugural season at the helm for the Barons he led the program to its first winning season in eight years.

 

“I believe FPD is the perfect place and environment for my family to grow, my kids attend school and for me to continue doing what I love, which is serving youth through athletics,” said Chapman. “Our most important core value will be glorifying God and representing FPD in our play and our behavior.”

 

Before coaching, Chapman received a basketball scholarship to play collegiately at Brewton-Parker where he received his undergraduate degree. He left BPC after graduation for a year to be a graduate assistant at Eastern Kentucky while earning his Masters Degree before returning to BPC to lead the basketball program.

 

“Coach Gavin brings excellent experience as a player and coach to our program. He has a compelling vision for building a basketball program investing in all levels of development, said Head of School Gregg Thompson. “We are excited that he will take the reins of this high-profile program at FPD.”

 

In addition to leading the Vikings Basketball Program Chapman will be part of the Physical Education Department at FPD.

 

Chapman is a native of Watkinsville, Georgia and a graduate of Oconee County High School.  He and his wife Tabitha Chapman will be moving to Macon from Montgomery County along with their two boys Cason (2yrs) and Luke (11mos).

 

 

2018-19 Boys Basketball Schedule
Day Date Opponent Location Time Result Record Region Record
Wednesday November 14 Crawford County-Scrimmage Away 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday November 27 Howard FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday November 30 Strong Rock FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday December 4 Lamar County FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday December 7 Hebron Christian FPD 8:00 p.m. --- --- ---
Saturday December 8 Savannah Country Day FPD 5:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday December 11 Rutland Away 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Thursday December 20 Coach Mac Classic - GMC FPD 6:00 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday December 21 Coach Mac Classic - Lake Oconee Academy FPD 6:00 p.m. --- --- ---
Thursday December 27 TSA Holiday Classic TSA TBD --- --- ---
Friday December 28 TSA Holiday Classic TSA TBD --- --- ---
Saturday December 29 TSA Holiday Classic TSA TBD --- --- ---
Wednesday January 2 Stratford Away 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday January 4 Twiggs County FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday January 8 MDS FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday January 11 TSA Away 8:00 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday January 15 Wilkinson County Away 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday January 18 Stratford FPD 8:00 p.m. --- --- ---
Saturday January 19 Howard Away 3:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday January 22 Twiggs County Away 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday January 25 MDS Away 8:00 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday January 29 TSA FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Friday February 1 Wilkinson County FPD 7:30 p.m. --- --- ---
Tuesday February 6 1st Rd Region Tournament TBD TBD --- --- ---
Friday February 8 Region Semi-Finals TBD TBD --- --- ---
Saturday February 9 Region Championship TBD TBD --- --- ---
Saturday February 16 1st Rd State Playoffs TBD TBD --- --- ---
* Denotes Sub-Region 7-A Contest
Schedule subject to change
2018-19 Boys Basketball Roster
Number Player Height Position Year
1 Charles Smith 6-0 Guard Senior
2 Brooks Roper 6-2 Guard Junior
3 Jordan Jones 5-11 Guard Sophomore
4 Cory Kilburg 6-2 Guard Junior
5 Jake Smaha 6-1 Guard Junior
10 Bryce Woods 5-11 Guard Junior
11 Noah Johnson 5-8 Guard Sophomore
12 Walker Andress 5-10 Guard Sophomore
13 Chan Copelan 6-2 Forward Senior
14 Ben Corbin 6-1 Forward Senior
15 Andrew Correa 6-1 Forward Sophomore
21 Bryce Ball 6-3 Forward Senior
23 Charles Upshaw 6-2 Forward Junior
24 Trey Mixon 5-7 Guard Sophomore
2018-19 Boys Basketball Coaches
Coach Title
Gavin Chapman Head Coach
Melvin Jones Asst. Coach
Garrett Law Athletic Trainer

Upcoming Events

FPD Basketball @ Crawford County

Scrimmage on the road

JV Lady Vikings - 4:30
Lady Vikings - 6:00pm
Vikings - 7:30pm
When: Wed November 14 4:30 PM - 9:45 PM
Where: Roberta, Georgia

MS Swim Meet

When: Thu November 15 4:30 PM - 6:45 PM
Where: Lovett School - Atlanta, Georgia