Football Releases Award Winners at Banquet

MACON, Ga.- The First Presbyterian Day School football team and head coach Greg Moore held its annual awards banquet on Thursday, January 11, 2013. The event honors the football players, the senior class and allows all involved the Viking football program to reminisce on the previous season and accomplishments.

The awards are as follows:

Team Captains: Brooks Stroud, Scott McCormick, Will Black, and Martin Wilson

Scholar-Athlete Award: Bennett Hunphries

Kaiser Viking Award: Austin Moore

Attitude Award Winner: Alec Martin

Scout Soldiers Award: Austin Cox, Alex Nelsen, Tanner Bailey, Bennett Humphries, John G. Thigpin, Barron Jones, Evan Sapp, Jack Sawyer

Most Outstanding Lineman: Martin Wilson

Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Will Black

Most Outstanding Offensive Player: Brooks Stroud

The 2012 season was one of the best in FPD’s history. The Vikings advanced to the second round of the GHSA Class A State Playoffs for the first time in school history and garnered its first playoff victory as a member of the GHSA over Brookstone. Moore also earned his 100th victory as a head coach, all coming at FPD.

The First Presbyterian Day School Department of Athletics, home to multiple region and state championships in both the GISA and GHSA, strives to build the student athlete both in the playing arena and the classroom while continuing to educate and equip students to change the world for God’s glory. Now a member of the GHSA, the Vikings have continued to provide FPD athletes, coaches, fans and spectators a positive, Christian environment on a daily basis. For more information, visit and sign up for up-to-the-minute news and scores by visiting