Football Announces Awards at Postseason Banquet

MACON, Ga. – Head football coach Greg Moore announced the 2014 award-winners at the FPD football postseason banquet on Monday night, Jan. 5 at the ZACH Gymnasium on the school’s campus.

“It’s always great to get together one more time with the FPD football family,” Moore said. “Our team overcame many obstacles this past season and we wanted to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of our kids before turning the page on the 2014 season.”

Listed below are the awards given at the banquet:

Team Captains: Noah Groover, Austin Cox, Jam Morris, Palmer Haynes.

Academic Award: Jonathan Raines, Noah Groover, John Gordon Thigpin.

Kaiser Toughness Award: Cole Thomason.

Austin Childers Attitude Award: Austin Cox.

All – Region: Palmer Haynes, Robby Watson, Will McCormick, Reggie Gantt, Jam Morris, Jonathan Raines, Noah Groover, Cole Thomason.

AP All State 2nd Team: Daniel Weaver, punter.

The Vikings finished the 2014 season at 7-4 overall and advanced to the GHSA Class-A Private State Playoffs for a fourth consecutive season.

Continue to check throughout the offseason for complete coverage on the FPD football team.

The First Presbyterian Day School Department of Athletics strives to build the student athlete both in the playing arena and the classroom while upholding the school’s mission statement to educate and equip students to change the world for God’s glory. For more information, visit and sign up for up-to-the-minute news and scores by following the Vikings on Twitter at @FPDVikingSports.